Lecture Series

The C-STAR lecture series offers biweekly talks by members and guests of the Center. All talks are accessible online, via GoToMeeting. The series will include lectures on aphasia, rehabilitation after stroke, neuroimaging and neurostimulation methodology, and the neurobiology of language. For more information, or if you would like to be added to our mailing list, please contact Dr. Dirk den Ouden, denouden@sc.edu, 803-777-9241.

C-STAR Lecture Series, 2017-2018

Thursdays @ 2pm, Discovery I, room 140, University of South Carolina (915 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29208)

Food and drink is generally provided at these meetings!

Please note that you do not need a username or password to attend these lectures online. However, the virtual lecture room is only open during the lectures.

DateSpeakerAffiliationTitleJoin/View
Thursday, August 31, 2017Julius FridrikssonUniversity of South CarolinaThe Anatomy of Aphasia Revisited
Thursday, September 14, 2017Roozbeh BehroozmandUniversity of South CarolinaBehavioral and Neural Bases of Speech Sensorimotor Impairment in Aphasia
Thursday, September 28, 2017Emilie McKinnonMedical University of South CarolinaAdvanced diffusion MRI methods for studying white matter integrity in aphasia
Thursday, October 12, 2017Kyrana TsapkiniJohns Hopkins UniversityLessons from studying behavioral and neural effects of transcranial direct current stimulation in primary progressive aphasia
Thursday, October 26, 2017Ezequiel GleicherrchtMedical University of South CarolinaNeural basis of sentence structure complexity during speech production: Lessons from natural language processing and lesion mapping
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017Stephen WilsonVanderbilt UniversityTBA
Thursday, December 14, 2017Greg HickokUniversity of California, IrvineTBA
Thursday, January 11, 2018Argye HillisJohns Hopkins UniversityTBA
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018Mike DickeyUniversity of PittsburghTBA
Thursday, February 22, 2018Bonnie NozariJohns Hopkins UniversityTBA
Thursday, March 8, 2018Alexandra BasilakosUniversity of South CarolinaTBA
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018Swathi KiranBoston UniversityTBA
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018

 

Here is the list of past lectures, including abstracts and links to the recordings:

DateSpeakerAffiliationTitleJoin/View
Thursday, September 8, 2016Julius FridrikssonUniversity of South CarolinaCenter for the Study of Aphasia Recovery (C-STAR): A P50 Funded Research Program
Thursday, September 22, 2016Leo BonilhaMedical University of South CarolinaThe human brain connectome applied to stroke rehabilitation research
Thursday, October 6, 2016Grigori YourganovUniversity of South CarolinaMultivariate analysis of neuroimaging data: applications for stroke research
Thursday, October 20, 2016Brielle StarkUniversity of South CarolinaReliability of behavior performance and functional activation in aphasia
Thursday, November 03, 2016Grant WalkerUniversity of California, IrvineA cognitive psychometric model for assessment of picture naming errors
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
2.30pm!
Cathy J. PriceWellcome Trust Centre for NeuroimagingUnderstanding functional reorganization to explain recovery of language after stroke
Thursday, December 01, 2016Dorian PustinaUniversity of PennsylvaniaPredicting aphasia scores from multimodal neuroimaging: an integrated framework
Thursday, December 15, 2016Rajani SebastianJohns Hopkins UniversityCerebellar tDCS: A novel approach to augment aphasia treatment
Thursday, January 19, 2017Greg HickokUniversity of California, IrvineThe Dual Stream Model: Clarifications and Recent Progress
Thursday, February 02, 2017Souvik SenUniversity of South CarolinaSpeech Disturbances in Stroke Mimics
Thursday, February 16, 2017Chris Rorden & Grigori YourganovUniversity of South CarolinaResting state connectivity as a predictor of aphasia
Thursday, March 02, 2017Argye HillisJohns Hopkins UniversityWas Wernicke Right?
Thursday, March 16, 2017Alexandra BasilakosUniversity of South CarolinaAcoustic and Neuroanatomical Predictors of Acquired Apraxia of Speech
Thursday, April 6, 2017Tom BroussardStroke Survivor and NeuroeducatorAphasia Rehabilitation & Recovery from Novel Therapy; Click here for slides!
Thursday, April 13, 2017Bonnie BreiningJohns Hopkins UniversityDeficits in Action and Object Naming: Evidence from Acute Stroke and Primary Progressive Aphasia
Thursday, April 27, 2017Adam BuchwaldNew York UniversityMotor speech production (but not phonological production) improves following motor training
Thursday, May 11, 2017Dirk den OudenUniversity of South CarolinaNeural Predictors of Agrammatic Performance in Aphasia
Contact Us

If you have general questions about the Center for the Study of Aphasia Recovery, please let us know!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt